Bienvenue, Wamkelekile, Welkom


Pour une justice sociale et environnementale.

Siyabambisana ngokukhusela nobulungisa uluntu kunye nokusingqongileyo.

Nous sommes en mesure d'offrir des services de qualité dans les domaines de l'emploi et de la santé.

Karpower – Could Cost An Arm And A Leg And Our Oceans And Environment

Lire la suite

BLOOM ET THE GREEN CONNECTION S'OPPOSENT AUX PROJETS PÉTROLIERS ET GAZIERS OFFSHORE NÉFASTES DE TOTALENERGIES

Read StopTEEPSA Campaign

PROJET KOEKSISTER : RENDRE VOTRE VILLE RÉSILIENTE

Lire la suite

REJOIGNEZ NOTRE APPEL AU PRÉSIDENT RAMAPHOSA POUR QU'IL METTE FIN À LA PROSPECTION PÉTROLIÈRE ET GAZIÈRE OFFSHORE DANS L'OCÉAN ET QU'IL PRÉCONISE UNE ÉNERGIE DURABLE ET RENOUVELABLE

Lire la campagne "Notre océan, notre avenir

CGG Seismic Survey 2.0 Approved?
Karpowership Saldanha Bay Approved?

APPEAL SUBMISSIONS

Green Connection has submitted appeals on CGG Seismic Survey 2.0 and Karpowership Saldanha Bay in the hopes that Department of Forestry and Fisheries and Environmental Affairs Minister Creecy will stand up for the environment and the people who depend on the coasts for their testing testing

MAKE YOUR VOICE HEARD

Join the call to stop offshore oil and gas exploration in the ocean and call for sustainable, renewable energy solutions.

 

HISTOIRE DE LA CAMPAGNE "QUI A VOLÉ NOS OCÉANS

The Who Stole Our Oceans campaign is an environmental and social justice campaign launched by The Green Connection in 2020. 

 

DOCUMENTS ET RAPPORTS

Documents soumis

NOUS DEMANDONS AU GOUVERNEMENT SUD-AFRICAIN D'INTERDIRE À TOUS LES NAVIRES IMPLIQUÉS DANS L'EXPLORATION PÉTROLIÈRE ET GAZIÈRE DE L'ANTARCTIQUE D'UTILISER NOS PORTS.

Lire la suite

S'opposer à l'exploration pétrolière et gazière en mer

Plusieurs entreprises, comme Shell, se lancent actuellement dans la prospection de pétrole et de gaz. Les études sismiques font partie de la prospection de pétrole et de gaz. Les compagnies pétrolières les utilisent pour rechercher du pétrole et du gaz sous l'océan. La Green Connection s'oppose aux études sismiques en raison de leur impact sur l'environnement océanique et sur la vie de tous ceux qui dépendent de la vie marine pour leur subsistance. Shell a tenté de mener des études sismiques le long de la côte sauvage, riche en biodiversité, où de nombreuses communautés côtières dépendent de l'océan pour leur subsistance.

 

Shell n'est pas la seule entreprise qui prévoit d'explorer le pétrole et le gaz sous les fonds marins. Une action en justice a empêché Searcher de commencer son étude sismique sur la côte ouest. Nous nous opposons également à TOSACO, AZINAM sur la côte ouest, TEEPSA, TEPSA, CGG sur la côte sud-est, qui sont à différents stades d'obtention de permis pour des activités liées à l'exploration et des études sismiques (voir la carte du pétrole et du gaz offshore ci-dessous). 

Dans le cadre de la campagne "Qui a volé nos océans", la Green Connection, ainsi que d'autres organisations de la société civile(Masifundise, SDCEA, Oceans Not Oil, Sustaining The Wild Coast, Protect The West Coast, Eastern Cape Environmental Network, 350Africa.org, The Bigai Fishing & Environmental Society Knysna, Extinction Rebellion, Natural Justice, Amadiba Crisis Committee, Kobush Development Association, Coastal Links, Coastal Justice Network, African Climate Alliance, SAFCEI, et d'autres) s'opposent aux activités visant à trouver et à exploiter des combustibles fossiles sous les fonds marins, y compris les études sismiques. Nous encourageons les défenseurs de l'environnement à s'informer et à agir.

Faire du développement durable une réalité

La Green Connection s'efforce de faire entendre sa voix dans les processus de prise de décision liés à la justice sociale et environnementale en Afrique. En outre, elle cherche à développer la compréhension et la sensibilisation aux différents aspects du développement durable. Une campagne pour la justice sociale et environnementale a été lancée en 2020, dans le but de protéger nos océans pour les générations futures, avec un accent particulier sur l'opposition à l'exploration pétrolière et gazière offshore. L'histoire de l'extraction pétrolière en Afrique est marquée par la cupidité, la complicité, la destruction des moyens de subsistance et de l'habitat naturel, ainsi que par les violations des droits de l'homme. Cette histoire est parfaitement illustrée par le fait que le gouvernement militaire nigérian a pris pour cible le peuple Ogoni, qui protestait contre la dégradation dévastatrice de l'environnement causée par la pollution pétrolière de la Shell Petroleum Company.

Karpowership – Saldanha Bay 

The original Environmental Authorisation was refused. Karpower appealed and Minister Creecy referred back for more studies.  EIA application version 2 now been granted on 14 November 2023, but Triplo4 consultants only notified the public on 24 November 2023.  The appeal deadline is on 14 December 2023.

Green Connection submission to EIA version 2 is here. Anyone who wishes to oppose project can write an objection and appeal to Minister Creecy to reverse the approval. To appeal, write to Attention: Director: Appeals and Legal Review

E-mail: appeals@dffe.gov.za and ask them for the form. If you have the form, then you send your appeal to the same address.

Join the call to stop offshore oil and gas exploration in the ocean and call for sustainable, renewable energy solutions.  SIGN PETITION

 

Faire du développement durable une réalité...

Nos domaines d'intervention

Effet de survol de l'image

Eco
Justice

Eco
Justice

Impliqué dans diverses initiatives, par exemple, pour améliorer l'efficacité énergétique en Afrique du Sud, en soutenant les énergies renouvelables et en fournissant des fourneaux économes en combustible.

Effet de survol de l'image

Communauté
Autonomisation

Autonomisation des communautés

Elle se consacre à l'autonomisation des individus et des communautés par le biais d'ateliers et d'actions de proximité, afin de rendre notre mode de vie plus durable.

Effet de survol de l'image

Défense des ressources

Ressources
Plaidoyer

Donner aux jeunes militants, et aux femmes en particulier, les moyens d'intervenir dans l'espace politique et législatif, afin que les processus décisionnels soient renforcés pour garantir une mise en œuvre efficace de la gouvernance dans les domaines de l'environnement naturel, de la conservation et de la justice environnementale.

For upcoming events, please visit us soon.

Événements passés

Manifestation à Saldanha à l'occasion de l'audition publique sur le projet de loi relatif à la modification de la législation sur le gaz

Regarder en anglais

Bukela NgesiXhosa

Kyk en afrikaans

Picket

Court case challenge against NERSA electricity generation license

Court Challenge

Small Scale Fishers and civil society organizations support criminal complaint against Total Energies climate damage

System Change March

Protest for system change on Human Rights Day

Koeksister Workshop - Saldanha Bay

Koeksister Project workshop took place in Saldanha Bay Municipality

Open Secrets

The People's Hearing on Energy Profiteers

S'impliquer

N'hésitez pas à nous contacter !

Si vous êtes passionné par la justice environnementale et que vous souhaitez contribuer à nos programmes et à nos initiatives d'autonomisation, n'hésitez pas à nous contacter !

Nous envoyer un courriel

greenconnectcpt@gmail.com
info@thegreenconnection.org.za

Rejoignez les Amis de la Connexion Verte

À propos de la Connexion verte

La Green Connection a été créée en 2000. En 2021, l'organisation de la société civile a été restructurée pour devenir un NPC avec un conseil d'administration et elle conserve son statut d'avantage fiscal en vertu de la section 18A. Les domaines spécifiques dans lesquels nous travaillons sont le développement durable, le changement climatique et les énergies renouvelables, les ressources éducatives et la traduction, le développement communautaire, l'autonomisation en matière de durabilité environnementale et la réalisation d'évaluations efficaces de l'impact sur l'environnement.

Welcome, Wamkelekile, Welkom


Standing for Social and Environmental Justice.

Siyabambisana ngokukhusela nobulungisa uluntu kunye nokusingqongileyo.

Ons staan op as gemeenskappe in eenheid vir omgewings en sosiale geregtigheid.

Oppose Offshore Oil and Gas Exploration

Various companies like Shell are currently starting exploration for oil and gas. Seismic surveys are part of exploring for oil and gas. Oil companies use them to search beneath the ocean for oil and gas. The Green Connection opposes seismic surveys due to their impact on the ocean environment and on the lives of all those who depend on the marine life of the sea for their livelihoods. Shell has tried to carry out seismic surveys along the biodiversity-rich wild coast, where many coastal communities depend on the ocean for their livelihoods.

 

Shell is not the only company that is planning to explore for oil and gas under the seabed. Legal action interdicted Searcher from starting their seismic survey on the west coast. We are also opposing TOSACO, AZINAM on the west coast, TEEPSA, TEPSA, CGG on the south east coast who are in various stages of trying to get permits for exploration linked activities and seismic surveys (view offshore oil and gas map below). 

 

As part of the Who Stole Our Oceans Campaign, The Green Connection, together with other civil society organizations (Masifundise, SDCEA, Oceans Not Oil, Sustaining The Wild Coast, Protect The West Coast, Eastern Cape Environmental Network, 350Africa.org, The Bigai Fishing & Environmental Society Knysna, Extinction Rebellion, Natural Justice, Amadiba Crisis Committee, Kobush Development Association, Coastal Links, Coastal Justice Network, African Climate Alliance, SAFCEI,  and others) are opposing activities that are aimed at finding and exploiting fossil fuels under the seabed, including seismic surveys. We encourage those who would be environmental defenders to make yourselves aware and take action.

 

Donate
For A Cause

A team of national and international lawyers is working to stop the seismic surveys around the coast. Going into 2022 money will contribute to further court actions including interdicts against seismic surveys as well as the full court cases that follow. please find the confirmatory letter here.

 

As part of the Who Stole Our Oceans Campaign, The Green Connection is opposing activities that are aimed at finding and exploiting fossil fuels under the seabed, including seismic surveys.

Social Media Square Infographic Template (20)

Court Hearing Against Shell Seismic Surveys In Gqeberha High Court 2022

Watch The Court Hearing Below

Making Sustainable Development A Reality

The Green Connection strives to have a voice in decision making processes related to social and environmental justice in Africa. Additionally, to develop understanding and awareness about different aspects of sustainable development. An environmental and social justice campaign was launched in 2020, in a bid to protect our oceans for future generations, with a particular emphasis on opposing offshore oil and gas exploration.  The history of oil extract in Africa is one of greed, complicity, destruction of livelihoods and natural habitat, and human rights violations. This is perfectly illustrated by the Nigerian military government’s targeting of the Ogoni people, who were protesting the devastating environmental degradation caused by the Shell Petroleum Company’s oil pollution.

Making sustainable development a reality...

Our Focus Areas

Image hover effect image

Eco
Justice

Eco
Justice

Involved in various initiatives, for example, to improve energy-efficiency in South Africa from supporting renewable energy to providing fuel-efficient stoves.

Image hover effect image

Community
Empowerment

Community Empowerment

Dedicated to empowering individuals and communities through workshops and community outreach, to make our way of life more sustainable.

Image hover effect image

Resource Advocacy

Resource
Advocacy

Empowerment of young activists, and women in particular, to intervene in the policy and legislative space, so that decision-making processes are strengthened to ensure effective implementation of governance in the natural environment, conservation and environmental justice spheres.

Upcoming Events

Visit Us Again To See Upcoming Events

Past Events

Gas Amendment Bill Public Hearings Protest In Saldanha

Watch In English

Bukela NgesiXhosa

Kyk in Afrikaans

International Oceans Tribunal

Protest

Against Shell Seismic Surveys In The Wild Coast

Protest

Outside Cape Town High Court, Against Seismic Surveys In The West Coast

Webinar

Preventing Burnout: Strategies and Tips For Activists

Workshop

Koeksister Project Workshop In Saldanha Bay

Get Involved

We'd love to hear from you!

If you have a passion for environmental justice and would like to assist with our programmes and empowerment initiatives, please get in touch!

About The Green Connection

The Green Connection was established in 2000. In 2021 the civil society organisation was restructured to be a NPC with a board of directors and it retains it’s section 18A tax benefit status. Some of the specific areas we work in are Sustainable Development, Climate Change & Renewable Energy, Educational Resources & Translation, Community Development, Empowerment in Environmental Sustainability, and Empowering Effective Environmental Impact Assessments.